Restorers, Riders and
Admirers

66 CA77 Kick start seems to slip.

Clutch, Transmission, Drive Chain, Sprockets
Aussieken272
honda305.com Member

66 CA77 Kick start seems to slip.

Post by Aussieken272 » Thu Nov 22, 2018 5:19 am

Just purchased this bike from apparently a very diligent person of vast experience. Bike hasnt gone for a few years. has a genuine 10,000 miles on it and all original with panniers.
clutch is not disengaging and im fine to deal with with a rolling start and accelerate decelerate with clutch in to fix. Just running standard motor oil of 20 50 i think.
concern is when i use kick starter, it seems to not be direct to crankshaft and has slippage. It feels to me that the effort of the kick start passes through the clutch and the slippage is occurring in clutch. However from my experience, i feel it does not pass drive through the clutch. Im a former car mechanic but not a bike mechanic.

Any help for this new member

garage of bikes
1928 J 1000 harley outfit
2 Honda 1979 XL500s
CA77 Honda 1966
1981 Honda XR 500
harley 1938 WLDR
Norton commando 1071 850
triumph T150 1971
Harley 1994 FXDWG
Harley FXR 1995
Suzuki GS 750
Honda 7/70 CB750 (genuine 5000 miles)
Kawasaki 1977 Z1000
KTM 525
Various others to clog garage
Wanted Bridgestone 90 deluxe or similar

e3steve
h305 Moderator

Post by e3steve » Thu Nov 22, 2018 8:56 am

Is the slippage sudden? Or is it like it’s, as you say, ‘slipping’.

These bikes do suffer badly from k/s pawl wear...

DJM
honda305.com Member

Kickstart / clutch slippage

Post by DJM » Thu Nov 22, 2018 9:30 am

The 'drive' from the kickstart lever to the crankshaft DOES pass through the clutch on this bike (and most others) so what you are describing could well be like clutch slip, even if drives OK while on the road.