Restorers, Riders and
Admirers

CB77 Race Bike

RCP_Espresso
honda305.com Member

CB77 Race Bike

Post by RCP_Espresso » Sun Nov 13, 2016 5:53 pm

Hi everyone,

I recently purchased this CB77 to serve as a winter project (I'm fairly certain some of you have seen this listing across the internet).

I've been riding for about 10 years, started with a CX500 (before they were cool) and currently own a '75 Kawa Z1 and a 79 Suzuki GS750E.

I took a few minutes to open up the documentation... holy crap, I'm pretty impressed. Here's the link to the imgur gallery, and below are some of the highlights.

http://imgur.com/a/c8ceW

It seems like this has more or less the whole catalog of honda race parts...
documentation indicates it has the 5 speed trans which is a nice surprise too.
Additionally its using honda 350 pistons.

There's mention of ceriani forks, but I'm pretty sure those were taken off years ago because the forks on it right now look like typical CB77 type II forks.

Right now the bike is running a total loss system and is bump start only... this isn't exactly practical for me at this point in time so that's going to be the first thing to address. So off the top of my head, here are my priorities of work:

1. Get motor running
1a. new wiring harness
1b. electronic ignition, coils, R+R (charlies)
1c. add alternator, starter clutch, starter, starter chain
1d. add switches/controls
1e. battery
1f. drain oil, check oil sediment trap/primary chain/valve clearances/cam chain tensioner
1g. clean carburetors
1h. new throttle cables
1i. add fuel filters/new fuel lines
1j. attempt to start.

After all that happens I'll begin to look at the suspension/tires/misc other items.
Teazer gave me a heads up about the current clutch setup and a recommendation on how to improve it, so I'll likely go with his guidance.

I already have the Bill Silver CB77 guides as well as the shop manual CD and I've just ordered a clymer manual as well.