Restorers, Riders and
Admirers

Complete newbie from Indiana, with a 67' Honda CL77

JCrimson
honda305.com Member

Complete newbie from Indiana, with a 67' Honda CL77

Post by JCrimson » Sun Feb 09, 2014 12:38 am

Hello,
I've been a member over at DOTHETON for a while now, and some of the members there have referenced me to this site. I thought I would come over and gain some wisdom and advice from you guys! I will be posting pictures and pieces of my thread from DOTHETON to this website in an effort to save some time. If you want to check out my thread over there, here is the link:

http://www.dotheton.com/forum/index.php?topic=53444.0

Here are some pictures of the build so far, with a little back story as to where the bike came from.

Hello, my name is Jake.
I'm from north eastern Indiana, and have stumbled through the internet to finally end up here. I have a couple of questions.

A little bit about myself, I'm a student at a local university studying Graphic Design and Webpage Design. I've been an avid mechanic ever since I learned that fixing your own vehicles is much more rewarding and that most mechanics I feel, can't be trusted. I've dealt mostly with repairing automobiles from transfer case swaps, alternators, starters, and everything in between. But now I've got this itch to do something a little more unique and while still living at home, space is limited so a rat rod is out of the question.

While attempting to sell my uncles 1977' MG MGB for him, we got onto the topic of cafe style motorcycles. I've never ridden a motorcycle, but have always wanted to learn as well as ride something a little more unique. He mentioned that he still owned a 1967' Honda 305 Scrambler up in Iowa that he had to leave behind when he moved (10 years ago). He told me if I wanted to go get the bike (10 hour trip, one way) that I could have it.