Vintage Honda Owners,
Restorers, Riders and
Admirers

Restore a 305 Dream 1969

Johnm32073
honda305.com Member

Restore a 305 Dream 1969

Post by Johnm32073 » Wed Jul 24, 2019 2:31 pm

I am think of Restoring my 305, The only thing I am not good at is the engine. It runs very well, well it did until I tried rebuilding the carburetor (Dumb idea From Me) The rest of the bike I can pretty well do, But before I jump into the water I don't want to sink. Is very hard to dissemble, paint and put back together Paint and polish, i can do and line the tank I did that already Be my 1st motorcycle to take apart.

Dr. Frankenstein
honda305.com Member

Post by Dr. Frankenstein » Mon Jul 29, 2019 4:04 am

Hi John -

The best way to do it is get a manual, socket set and some open-end wrenches and go for it!

Order a complete gasket and seal set on Ebay; you'll need it.

Its also a good idea to replace ALL the metric engine screws with Allenhead-type screws/bolts. The original JIS (Japanese Industrial Standard) screws are crap, and will more than likely strip out if you're using a regular Philips-head screwdriver. I use a set of VESSEL Megadora JIS screwdrivers exclusively on my Japanese bikes, and I use them ONLY on Japanese motorcycles. Visit Picclick.com or Ebay for a nice set; they're not too expensive, and worth every penny.

Fastenal.com is a good source for the Allenhead screws; Lowes, too, or maybe Home Depot.

This is One of the manuals I use, on Ebay right now for a really good price:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/283439245392

This is also a good page for free manuals, but you'll have to download them and print them out:

https://scramblercycle.com/pages/literature

Be sure to download the Honda Parts Catalog H/C 37465 too - it shows you how everything is supposed to go together, with their part numbers; its very nice to have.