Login
□ Search
□ FAQ 
□ 
Vintage Honda Owners,
Restorers, Riders and
Admirers

CB77 restoration by a newbie in Scotland

Want to keep a Restoration Log? Post it here! You can include photos. Suggested format: One Restoration per Thread; then keep adding your updates to the same thread...
eddiebpool
honda305.com Member

CB77 restoration by a newbie in Scotland

Post by eddiebpool » Sat Mar 25, 2017 6:55 am

I'm new to CB77's and the 305 engine but not new to bikes. I've had bad bikes all my adult life and know my way around a garage. I've just about completed a nut and bolt restoration of a CB750 (1976) and wanted to go even more old school for my next project. I got the chance to get a rough CB77 and took it.

The bike is bad. I broke all my own rules about buying a project bike. Don't buy it sight unseen (eBay) and with unknown history.. Don't buy a bike with lots of original (expensive) parts missing. Generally speaking, don't be on eBay if there is nothing you really need!

I will post a couple of pics so you can see how silly I have been ...
Attachments
cb77 - right side.jpg
cb77 - right side.jpg (328.81 KiB) Viewed 2377 times
cb77 - left side.jpg
cb77 - left side.jpg (331.23 KiB) Viewed 2377 times

eddiebpool
honda305.com Member

Post by eddiebpool » Sat Mar 25, 2017 7:29 am

The frame and swing arm look a little rough in places but are solid with no rot. Front forks are straight. Wheels a little rough but usable. All the rubber is ruined of course. The front fender could be straightened up and used if need be. Carbs look fine but will of course require a full clean and rebuild kit. That's about as much good as I can say for the moment!