Vintage Honda Owners,
Restorers, Riders and
Admirers

To Scramble or not to Scramble?

1963CL250
honda305.com Member

To Scramble or not to Scramble?

Post by 1963CL250 » Sun Aug 09, 2009 6:59 pm

I'm pretty sure I'm going to go ahead with the restoration, but if the people on the Honda forum think it's bad idea I might not.

I have an old CL72 I’ve been holding on to for about 17 years. Frame serial # and the engine serial # number match and the bike is complete. I’m thinking about getting the old girl back on the road but I worried about a few things:

I’ve already found a lot of good information on this site. I think I just need to read on.

Exhaust- One of the pipes is in really bad shape. I thinking exhaust pipes are hard to find?
Gas tank pads - one of the gas tank pads is missing
Mirrors are missing- I don’t think this is a really big deal
Tires - going to need a new rear tire for sure no big deal right?
Sleeve and Pistons – going to need them, hard to find?
Tank emblems- shot I would like to have the version that says “250”, already sent Ray an email.

I’m also think eBay will be my other best friend, right?

My goal would be the restore the engine to its original state (250 not 305), re-chrome, re-paint, re-rubber as needed. I would re-work the mechanical systems as needed as well. Does anyone want to chime-in with a budget estimate, if I do most of the work.

The whole story:

The engine was seized up when was given the bike seventeen years ago. I had to pound the pistons free from the cylinder with a big hammer. I lived in LA at the time and the local salvage guy gave me a 305 cylinder and pistons. I still have two old 250 cylinders but I think I might need some sleeves and pistons.