Vintage Honda Owners,
Restorers, Riders and
Admirers

Honda CL77 Kickstarter not catching

180degree
honda305.com Member

Honda CL77 Kickstarter not catching

Post by 180degree » Sun Oct 08, 2017 5:52 pm

I recently got a 1966 305 Scrambler that was partially restored. When I tried to start it a few days ago I noticed that at one point the kickstarter didn't seem to catch when kicking it down. I kicked it again and it seemed fine and didn't notice any other problems with it, and the bike started. Today I went to start the bike and the same thing happened but it seems to not catch at all. I tried it a handful of times and it caught once and turned the bike over fine. I'm new to this bike but mechanically inclined and hope this is something that I can fix myself. Does anyone here have an idea of what this can be or if this is a known problem with these bikes? The bike has around 9K original miles on it. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

G-Man
honda305.com Member

Re: Honda CL77 Kickstarter not catching

Post by G-Man » Mon Oct 09, 2017 8:38 am

Pull off the cover and check for cracks inside the kickstarter "knuckle" that attaches the kickstarter to the splined shaft inside the case. They crack and it will need welding up to make it work again.

G